Saturday, September 1, 2012

The Oh Boy!

So, watching too many commercials from Makers Mark for the Cocktail Party,  I bought some Makers Mark. I tried finding a recipe to use it with.  Ended up riffing on the Old Fashioned.

2 oz Makers Mark bourbon
1/2 oz cointreau
muddled orange slice
2-3 dashes angostura bitters

Shake with ice and a splash bit of cold water. Serve. Yum!

Great with chocolate? Srsly?

So, we drove up to Beltramos today, up in Menlo Park. Found a *LOT* of the obscure ingredients we'll be needing for our cocktail venture. We even found Genever Gin! Woot! So now we got to try the Alamagoozlum for real. I made it with Boomsma Jonge Genever Gin, and Appleton Jamaica Rum. It's really really good. I measured very carefully (pulled out my measuring cups for *real* half to 2 ounce measure) and use Fee Brothers Old Fashioned (Angostura) Bitters instead of the usual angostura.

It's a great drink. I wasn't able to put in a lemon twist, so I used a couple drops of lemon bitters.

The surprise though, was when we were having a chocolate truffle for dessert. I grabbed my water to cleanse my palate afterwards, fully expecting to have a sour, bitter nasty taste in my mouth after the chocolate. The Alamagoozlum goes well with chocolate truffles! Who knew? It smooths it out into this rich, mouth-enveloping velvet flavor. I have *no* idea what is doing that. Alex speculates it's the chartreuse - apparently his grandmother only drank chartreuse after after eating chocolate. So, perhaps it's that.

I encourage you to hunt down the genever gin and the jamaica rum and make a real alamagoozlum. It's worht it.


Friday, August 31, 2012

Because we have chickens...

We have chickens; therefore, we have eggs. We have eggs that I trust. Therefore, we have egg whites for cocktails. Tonight, I used a yolk in a recipe and had leftover egg white. You see where this is going don't you...

So, we tried the Alamagoozlum revisited.

This time:
2 oz gin (Bombay Sapphire - I still don't have genever gin)
1 shot water
1 shot Jamaican rum (Myers)
1 shot Chartreuse
1/2 oz curacao
1/2 oz Angostura bitters
and of course
1/2 egg white (yes, I made two so I could use the whole egg white)

So - this time I used the full amount of chartreuse. And no agave to sweeten it. It turned out great. Intensely flavorful, not sweet (unlike the first iteration). I still want to try sometime with genever gin.

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

On The Avenue and beyond

The Avenue is another of those cocktails requiring "exotic" ingredients. No, not the "orange flower water", although some folks might have trouble finding that. I refer, instead, to Passion Fruit Juice. (Or nectar. Or Puree. Or... ) I spent an afternoon running around searching for this ingredient. Whole Foods *used* to stock it. Doesn't anymore. Closest I could come was Passion Fruit Orange Juice concentrate in the frozen section of my favorite grocery, Piazzas Fine Foods.

So, I tried it with that.

1 oz bourbon (I used Jim Beam)
1 oz Calvados
1 oz passion fruit juice (I used passionfruit orange juice)
1 dash grenadine (I used Stirrings Real Pomegranate Grenadine)
1 dash orange flower water

The recipe calls for it to be garnished with "a carnation boutonniere". Yeah. How precious. I went wihtout the boutonierre. Eventually, deciding it was too smooth and sweet with no bite, we added a twist of lemon and then a dash of lemon bitters. Too late, I read that if you substitute for the passionfruit juice, that you probably want to skip the grenadine and add a dash of lemon juice instead. I think trying it that way will make it quite refreshing and summery.

We skipped the Aviation - we're both fans and love it. We make it the old way with both Maraschino *and* Creme de Violette. It's one of our favorite "hot-tub" cocktails. Beautifully pale blue, tasty, with enough tantalizing hints of florals and botanicals and enough tartness to not be cloying. It's a simple enough cocktail too -

2 1/2 oz gin
3/4 oz lemon juice (fresh is best of course)
a couple dashes maraschino
a couple dashes violet liqueur (creme de violette)
lemon twist garnish
(I often add a cherry as well.)

 The Barbara West is a cocktail I had high hopes for. Gin, sherry, lemon juice, angostura bitters? What's not to like. Unfortunately, it was too much sherry and also too lemon tart.

2 oz gin
1 oz sherry
1/2 oz fresh lemon juice
dash Angostura bitters

 I'll have to try this again with a more forward gin (I used Gordons) and less lemon juice, to see if we can get the balance right. It has potential.

Sunday, August 26, 2012

The perfect gentleman

You’re out for the evening. A perfect gentleman, dressed in a rich but not flashy suit, hands you a drink. You sip and it fills your mouth with its rich flavor, warming but not biting, full of character but not excessively complex or challenging. Like relaxing in front of a fireplace on a cold winter’s night, in the comfortable overstuffed chair of an old lodge filled with leather and wool and dark wood beams in the ceiling.

This is the Arnaud’s Special Cocktail.

2 ounces Scotch (I used Clan MacGregor)
1 ounce Dubonnet Rouge
3 dashes orange bitters (I’ve tried both Fee Brothers West Indies Orange Bitters and Stirrings Blood Orange Bitters)
Garnished with an orange twist

The book describes this as a Scotch lovers drink and NOT something that would be enjoyed by non-Scotch lovers. Surprising then, because I loathe scotch and yet I really enjoyed this. Perhaps, with a stronger, more peaty scotch, I might not like it. But given the flavors, I can see where a smokier peatier scotch might actually work for me in this one.

And, yes, DH loved it too. We sipped ours in the hottub, but I am definitely keeping this on the menu for this winter when we use the fireplace.

Saturday, August 25, 2012

Riffing on recipes - Amarosa 2.0?

Okay, so Amaro Cora is not made anymore. (The place I tried to order from contacted me to let me know that was a mistake on their website.) I searched and found an Italian website about bitters that explained it’s no longer being made. Darn!

Okay - next best: try riffing on it with amaros I can get. Since we own campari, I tried with that.

First try:

1 shot gin
1 shot campari
1 shot kirschwasser

WAAAAAY too much campari. Totally dominated by the campari flavor. Never mind. Not doing that again!

Next try:

1 shot gin
½ shot campari
1 shot kirschwasser

Much better! Balanced, bitter but not overly so. All the ingredients obviously play their part here, including the twist of lemon. I do want to try with Aperol some time, as I suspect it’ll be a bit closer to the “real” cora flavor.

And off onto a tangent:
Lillet Amarosa:

2 shots Lillet Rose’
½ shot kirschwasser
½ shot gin → brought up after tasting to 1 shot gin

Almost. Adding the extra half shot of gin brought it to a decent flavor balance.

DH’s comments were -- the Lillet Rose' version is like dating a girl who wears long socks and has her hair made up in tresses -- and can’t go out with you on Sunday morning ‘cuz she goes to Church then of course.  Can be wonderful and sweet, if you can stay awake...

The Campari version is like dating a girl who wears torn fishnet stockings, has plenty of tattoos, and has her hair in a Mohawk.  You may or may not be able to build on this but one thing is sure -- you won’t be bored!-)


Update: I ended up only drinking about half mine. The gin was definitely affecting me pretty strongly by the time I had tasted the versions. So, I gave the rest of mine to DH and switched back to water. (See - this is why I do fancy cocktails - I'm such a lightweight I can only handle one, so I might as well make that one worthwhile. )

Monday, August 20, 2012

No esoterica, just perfect balance

The Algonquin

This is a keeper. No esoteric ingredients. Everything easily accessible. We didn't need to make any substitutions. Just a perfect balance of flavor and fragrance.

The rye provides a nice background spiciness. The vermouth is fragrant but dry, and the pineapple smooths it out without making it cloyingly sweet.

The recipe:
1 jigger rye (I used Redemption Rye)
1/2 jigger dry vermouth (I used Noilly Pratt)
1/2 jigger pineapple juice

There is a variation which adds a dash of peach bitters and then it's called a Queen Anne. Now, I don't have official "peach bitters" but I canned peaches last year and put the peach pits, skins and clinging peach bits in vodka for a couple months. So I put in a dash of that. DH didn't like it that way - he didn't like the peach "aftertaste". I liked it though.

I also made a second cocktail with Old Overholt Rye. It wasn't as good. I was surprised at the difference it made. The pineapple was more pronounced, the vermouth less, and there was less spiciness.