Okay, so Amaro Cora is not made anymore. (The place I tried to order from contacted me to let me know that was a mistake on their website.) I searched and found an Italian website about bitters that explained it’s no longer being made. Darn!
Okay - next best: try riffing on it with amaros I can get. Since we own campari, I tried with that.
First try:
1 shot gin
1 shot campari
1 shot kirschwasser
WAAAAAY too much campari. Totally dominated by the campari flavor. Never mind. Not doing that again!
Next try:
1 shot gin
½ shot campari
1 shot kirschwasser
Much better! Balanced, bitter but not overly so. All the ingredients obviously play their part here, including the twist of lemon. I do want to try with Aperol some time, as I suspect it’ll be a bit closer to the “real” cora flavor.
And off onto a tangent:
Lillet Amarosa:
2 shots Lillet Rose’
½ shot kirschwasser
½ shot gin → brought up after tasting to 1 shot gin
Almost. Adding the extra half shot of gin brought it to a decent flavor balance.
DH’s comments were -- the Lillet Rose' version is like dating a girl who wears long socks and has her hair made up in tresses -- and can’t go out with you on Sunday morning ‘cuz she goes to Church then of course. Can be wonderful and sweet, if you can stay awake...
The Campari version is like dating a girl who wears torn fishnet stockings, has plenty of tattoos, and has her hair in a Mohawk. You may or may not be able to build on this but one thing is sure -- you won’t be bored!-)
Update: I ended up only drinking about half mine. The gin was definitely affecting me pretty strongly by the time I had tasted the versions. So, I gave the rest of mine to DH and switched back to water. (See - this is why I do fancy cocktails - I'm such a lightweight I can only handle one, so I might as well make that one worthwhile. )
No comments:
Post a Comment